Boise Downtown Falcons


On 05 November 2009, I received word that there was a falcon on the hack box in downtown Boise on the Capital One Building at 10th and Main Streets. The report said that it was the mother of this years falcons. I find that somewhat doubtful, as this particular falcon has both juvenile and adult colors. Plus, it looks like a male to me. Here are the photos. You be the judge. (Left click on the photo to go Full Screen)

Cheers! And do leave a comment with your opinion. Thanks.

5 comments

  1. Thanks for the report guys. Hmm, as far as male and female goes I’m not too sure. Bruce-what do you think? Some nice photos though and amazing that they are still hanging around the box this late in the year.

    Like

  2. This is a great picture of the "new" bird on the box…but our mom did not have so much white on her cheeks or her chest, so me the amateur…does not believe it is our mom. I did have a chance to see two birds on the box one day last week when I checked in on ibeam, one did look a lot like our dad…really white chest…I could be wrong of course…and the other looked like your picture and a much larger bird, so again, me the amateur thinks it is a female…but who I do not know. It sure is a beautiful bird though! Perhaps our dad's new fling? Ha-ha! I guess we will find out in spring! My little Hawk is still visiting our yard…and making kills daily…which makes me a little sad as I do feed so many birds, but I know it needs to eat too. Also, my Northern Flicker woodpecker (I just found out there are 11 species!) has returned! I just love him…I call him a him because he is so much more colorful than his friend or mate that is joining him! Last year he brought the entire family with him! They seem to love the suet I have out…I have 3 set up in 3 different trees. The little finches like it too! So the goings on in our yard has been pretty exciting lately!Terryann/Birdlady

    Like

  3. This is a great picture of the "new" bird on the box…but our mom did not have so much white on her cheeks or her chest, so me the amateur…does not believe it is our mom. I did have a chance to see two birds on the box one day last week when I checked in on ibeam, one did look a lot like our dad…really white chest…I could be wrong of course…and the other looked like your picture and a much larger bird, so again, me the amateur thinks it is a female…but who I do not know. It sure is a beautiful bird though! Perhaps our dad's new fling? Ha-ha! I guess we will find out in spring! My little Hawk is still visiting our yard…and making kills daily…which makes me a little sad as I do feed so many birds, but I know it needs to eat too. Also, my Northern Flicker woodpecker (I just found out there are 11 species!) has returned! I just love him…I call him a him because he is so much more colorful than his friend or mate that is joining him! Last year he brought the entire family with him! They seem to love the suet I have out…I have 3 set up in 3 different trees. The little finches like it too! So the goings on in our yard has been pretty exciting lately!Terryann/Birdlady

    Like

Leave a Reply

