Two "New" Birds on the Greenbelt


A nice morning to bike the Boise Greenbelt. 38 degrees F and winds ENE@7 mph. And then there were the divers practicing their skills in the pond. One cold dive!


I rode past this American Kestrel (Sparrow Hawk) and something told me to turn around and go look at it. It was pretty far away, so it was difficult to spot again. Just sitting in the tree and watching me, the California Quail (Thanks Bruce for the correction) and the Red-Winged Blackbirds. I turned around and it was gone. This was the first time that I have spotted a American Kestrel and the California Quail on my rides. I have heard the quail, but have not seen them.

American Kestrel

California Quail

Red-Winged Blackbirds in a tree. All singing loudly.

There you are. Enjoy the photos and Keep Looking Up!

Leave a Reply

