Eyass Report Boise – 1 Bird Fledged


Shawn-Carmen_Falcon_Graphic-Titled

It was reported last night at about 5:12pm that one of the eyasses had fledged and was perched on top of the new Zions Bank building on a construction beam. Later that evening, I received this information from Elaine Watson about the 4th eyass. She saw all four. Here is her report.

“Hi Bob,
I went downtown tonight to look for the 4th eyass on the 14th floor since I hadn’t heard mention of her/him in a few days. I walked completely around the First Capital Center building from a distance, and I think I spotted the 4th eyass on the back of the building facing Grove St. sitting next to a concrete pillar. Attached is a photo which I took around 8:45 pm tonight. It’s not a great photo because it was taken with my phone but you can definitely see a falcon on the 14th floor.

There were also three falcons on the roof ledge on the 9th St. side of the building (photo attached). I’m sure the two near the corner were eyasses, but I wasn’t sure about the one on the right. However, the falcon on the right was flapping its wings and walking towards the other two (though not when I took the photo which is attached). I didn’t see any other falcons.

I am enjoying your blog postings and photos.
Elaine Watson”

It could be a busy couple of days downtown watching and accounting for the fledglings. I have flyers around downtown with phone numbers on them of who to contact if you have a falcon on the ground. The flyers are at John Berryhill’s Bacon and the Eastman Garage Toll Booth, to name two places. You can also get a copy on this blog on a previous post Located Here. Elaine also submitted some photos of her “walk-about” last night. Here they are. Thanks Elaine for sharing all of this information.

One falcon on the 14th floor, south side of One Cap building.

One falcon on the 14th floor, south side of One Cap building.

The above photo enlarged.

The above photo enlarged.

Three falcons on the north side of One Cap Center.

Three falcons on the north side of One Cap Center.

At 10:30 this morning, Elaine reported that,

“Hi Bob,

Thanks for posting my photos to your blog. Others will be happy to know that the 4th eyass is still alive.

I went downtown this morning around 8:30 – 9:15 am, and I saw two eyasses and an adult Peregrine Falcon. There appeared to be two eyasses on the roof on the 9th street side near the southeast corner; one eyass was flapping its wings. There was also one adult (I couldn’t tell if it was the male or the female) on the back of the building on the Grove St. side on the 11th floor ledge. I didn’t see the eyass on the 14th floor at all. At first I thought I saw it near the nest box, but when I walked farther back, I could see that it was only a vent on the angled wall behind and to the right of the nest box. I took photos but the sun was too bright, and I can’t really see the eyasses in them. I looked around at neighboring buildings on all sides but I didn’t see any other falcons.

Happy falcon watching!

Elaine”

Thanks again, Elaine, for this report and for your help in keeping the falcons “in sight”. Keep Looking Up!

Leave a Reply

