Backyard Hummingbird and House Finch


17Aug2013_1b_Backyard-Birds_Hummingbirds_Fly-Away

Now that the falcons are gone from downtown, fledged but still being seen around town, my focus is to the backyard birds and eventually to the Boise Greenbelt wildlife. Here are some shots of Black-chinned Hummingbirds and of a common House Finch. All are taken at 1/800 sec, F/11 at 300mm with my Nikon D3000. The ISO varies somewhat. I have a make shift blind that I use and it seems to work quite well. The feeders are about 5 feet off of the ground. The “old feeder” is about 20 feet from me while the “new feeder” is about 12 feet away. The sugar water that I make is a 4 to 1 ratio of water (4 parts) and white sugar (1 part). I do not boil the water nor use a red food coloring. Neither step is useful or helpful in attracting the birds.
The photo to the left is a Black-chinned leaving the “old feeder”, the one furthest from me. I am sorry to report that the word that I received is that there will be no Hummingbird Banding this fall in Pine. It was always so much fun to be there with the folks and watch the process and photograph the birds. Maybe next year.

Black-chinned Hummingbird at the "old feeder".

Black-chinned Hummingbird at the “old feeder”.

Black-chinned Hummingbird at the "new feeder".

Black-chinned Hummingbird at the “new feeder”.

A House Finch at the bird bath. Such vivid colors on this little fellow. We have many of these at our feeders.

A House Finch at the bird bath. Such vivid colors on this little fellow. We have many of these at our feeders.

Keep Looking Up! and I hope you enjoyed these photos. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

